Will it be chicken or eggs?

Check out our article in the Ann Arbor news!

Three nights ago I watched a Korean revenge film called I Saw the Devil (2010). I very much liked Oldboy (2003) and even sat through Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance (2002) and Lady Vengeance (2005), so giving this film a shot wasn’t that far a stretch. It was… well, parts of it were really good. It opened incredibly strong and continued with great promise. However, midway through and after, I found myself saying that I’d have done things differently. This is definitely not the first film I’ve said that about and certainly not the last.

Here’s what I’ve discovered: the only reason I can critique this movie is because somebody made it. Had they not, I’d have no gripes and wouldn’t be able to say that I’d do anything differently. To some, criticism is daunting and unwelcome, but to me, it’s one of the best ways to learn.

My project, Mr. Snrub II, is a “II” because of what I learned from Mr. Snrub I. After watching it and sharing it and watching a bunch more, I made a lot of edits and cuts. In fact, I cut some of my most favorite images from the project, BUT it was for the greater good. And the best part? Just because I cut these images from one project doesn’t mean that I can’t use them elsewhere, or revisit the style. I could turn each image into their own entire project if I wanted!

The lesson here is I did something, learned a ton and am more articulate as a result. Here are some of my cut favorites.

-N-

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

